The National Assembly continued with sitting this week.

On Tuesday, 23 February, the Speaker of Parliament Hon Advocate Jacob Francis Mudenda swore in new Members of Parliament nominated by the MDC-T party to fill the vacancies that occurred among the Party-List Members of the National Assembly following the recall of Members by the MDC-T. The following MPs were sworn in under Proportional Representation:

1.    Hon. Nomvula Mguni, Bulawayo Metropolitan Province;
2.    Judith Chimwanza, Manicaland Province; and
3.    Hon. Miranzi Base, Mashonaland West Province

Hon Mudenda also announced the nomination of two new members of the Committee on Standing Rules and Orders Hon. Lilian Zemura (Mashonaland East ZANU PF) and Hon. Johnson Madhuku (Bikita East ZANU PF). Section 151 of the Constitution of Zimbabwe provides for the appointment of the Committee on Standing Rules and Orders. The CSRO is the policy making body at Parliament. It is mandated to consider all such matters concerning Parliament, as it deems fit. Such matters include inter-alia, appointment of Members to serve on Committees, appointment of Committee Chairpersons, determining the conditions of service of staff of Parliament and appointment of staff of Parliament