Speaker announces Portfolio Committee Chairpersons

The Speaker of the National Assembly has announced members of the Parliamentary Legal Committee, members of the Pan-African Parliament, chairpersons of committees and committee members.  The Parliamentary Legal Committee consists of Hon. J. Samukange as the Chairperson, Hon. C. Mpame, Hon. D. M. Mataranyika, Hon. I. K. Phulu and Hon. M. Mavhunga. The members designated by the SROC to the Pan-African Parliament are as follows;    

  1. Chief F. Z. Charumbira – (Leader of the Delegation);
  2. B. Rwodzi;
  3. P. Togarepi;
  4. S. Mathe; and
  5. Dr. T. Mashakada

The Speaker also announced the new Parliamentary portfolio committee chairpersons as follows;

  1. D. M. Mataranyika ZANU PF Makoni South – Justice and Legal Affairs;
  2. C. Chinanzvavana MDC A Mash West- Environment and Tourism;
  3. M. Chikukwa ZANU PF Harare – Local Government, Public Works and National Housing;
  4. T. P. Mliswa Independent Norton – Mines and Mining Development;
  5. J. M. Wadyajena ZANU PF Gokwe Nembudziya – Lands, Agriculture, Climate and Water and Rural Resettlement;
  6. E. Huni – Public Service, Labour and Social Welfare;
  7. K. Paradza ZANU PF Makonde- Foreign Affairs and International Trade;
  8. Rtd. Brigadier General L. Mayihlome ZANU PF Umzingwane –  Defence, Home Affairs and Security Services;
  9. F. Mhona ZANU PF Chikomba Central – Budget, Finance and Economic Development;
  10. Dr. R. Labode MDC-A Mat North – Health and Child Care;
  11. C. Madiwa – Women’s Affairs, Community, Small and Medium Enterprises Development;
  12. Eng. D. Garwe ZANU PF Murehwa North – Transport and Infrastructural Development;
  13. P. D. Sibanda MDC-A Binga North – Information, Media and Broadcasting Services;
  14. D. Molekela – Higher and Tertiary Education, Science and Technology Development;
  15. M. Tongofa ZANU PF Chivi North- Youth, Sports and Recreation;
  16. P. Misihairabwi-Mushonga MDC-T Bulawayo – Primary and Secondary Education;
  17. C. Hwende MDC-A Kuwadzana East – Information and Communication Technology and Courier Services;
  18. J. Sacco ZANU PF Chimanimani East – Industry and Commerce;
  19. Hon G. Gabbuza MDC-A Binga South – Energy and Power Development; and
  20. T. Biti MDC-A Harare East – Public Accounts Committee.

In the Senate, President of the Senate announced chairpersons for Thematic Committees as follows;

  1. Sen. Chief Khumalo Mat NorthSustainable Development Goals (SDGS)
  2. Sen. O. Chidawu ZANU PF Harare- Human Rights
  3. Sen. Dr. D. Parirenyatwa- Peace and Security –
  4. Sen. M. Mbowa ZANU PF Midlands- Indigenisation and Empowerment
  5. Sen. M. Femai MDC-A Harare- HIV and AIDS
  6. Sen. S. Ncube MDC-A Bulawayo- Gender Development and Empowerment

The House adjourned at Twenty-Seven Minutes past Four o’clock p.m. and will meet on Tuesday, 30th October, 2018.


Close Menu